loader image
Friday, September 11, 2026
Home » Ottawa Construction Contracts Near $877M in September Roundup
Ottawa Construction Contracts Near $877M in September Roundup

Ottawa Construction Contracts Near $877M in September Roundup

by Brand Magazine
0 comments
A single month of Ottawa-area construction news carries a $768.6-million federal science hub award, a $78-million bridge replacement contract, $30.5 million in electrical upgrades and 11 proposed towers — here is what each one covers.

Ottawa construction activity produced an unusually heavy month of contract news in September 2026, with a single trade roundup published on September 8 capturing a $768.6-million federal award to PCL Construction for a new science hub, a $78-million contract tied to the Alexandra Bridge replacement, $30.5 million in federal electrical infrastructure upgrades, and a private proposal for 11 towers across two Baseline Road sites.

Taken together, the three disclosed contract values alone add up to roughly $877 million in publicly reported work in and around the capital region. For business readers, the more interesting signal is not the total but the mix: one very large federal building program, one heavy civil replacement project, one utility-side upgrade package, and one large residential intensification play driven by the private market.

$768.6 Million to PCL Construction for a New Ottawa Science Hub

The largest single item in the September lineup is a federal contract valued at $768.6 million awarded to PCL Construction for a new science hub in Ottawa. On value alone, it sits in the top tier of federal building contracts awarded in the national capital region in recent years.

Beyond the award value, the contractor and the project type, further specifics were not detailed in the summary available — the construction schedule, the site, the delivery model and the federal client department are Not specified here. Readers tracking the file should treat the $768.6-million figure as the confirmed number and everything else as pending.

Contracts of this size matter to the regional supply chain well beyond the general contractor. A build in this range typically pulls in dozens of mechanical, electrical, structural and specialty trade subcontractors, and it tends to set the labour market tone for the surrounding construction economy for the duration of the project.

A $78-Million Contract for the Alexandra Bridge Replacement

The second major award covered in the issue is a $78-million contract connected to the replacement of the Alexandra Bridge, the interprovincial crossing over the Ottawa River linking Ottawa and Gatineau. The replacement of the century-old structure has been one of the most closely watched heavy civil files in the capital region.

The summary confirms the $78-million contract value. The recipient of the contract, the specific scope covered by that value — whether early works, demolition, design-build packages or main construction — and the start and completion dates are Not mentioned in the material available.

Interprovincial crossings are complicated projects in procurement terms because they involve federal ownership, two provinces, two municipalities and heavy commuter and tourism traffic. That complexity is one reason such projects are frequently broken into multiple contracts rather than tendered as a single award.

$30.5 Million in Federal Electrical Infrastructure Upgrades

The third confirmed contract item is $30.5 million in federal electrical infrastructure upgrades. It is the smallest of the three by value, and it is the kind of work that rarely draws headlines but keeps existing federal buildings and campuses operational.

Details on the locations, the scope of the electrical work and the contractors involved are Not specified in the available summary. What the line item does illustrate is the steady maintenance and recapitalization spending that runs alongside marquee new-build announcements — a category of work that many mid-sized Canadian contractors depend on for revenue stability between larger awards.

Eleven Towers Proposed for Two Baseline Road Sites

On the private development side, the September issue reports a proposal for 11 towers across two development sites on Baseline Road. Unlike the three contract items, this is a proposal rather than an awarded or approved project, and the building heights, unit counts, proponents, timelines and planning status are Not mentioned in the summary available.

Baseline Road is a major east-west corridor in Ottawa’s west end with existing transit service, which makes it a logical candidate for the kind of high-density, transit-oriented intensification that Ontario municipalities have been encouraging. An 11-tower concept spread over two sites would represent a substantial addition to the city’s housing pipeline if it advances through planning approvals.

The September Contract Picture at a Glance

Item Reported value Status
New Ottawa science hub (PCL Construction) $768.6 million Federal contract awarded
Alexandra Bridge replacement contract $78 million Contract reported; recipient Not specified
Federal electrical infrastructure upgrades $30.5 million Upgrade package reported
Baseline Road development, two sites Not specified 11 towers proposed

Imagery accompanying the issue also points to additional regional coverage, including a waterpark rendering and an infrastructure forum. Details on both items are Not specified in the material reviewed for this report.

Why This Month’s Ottawa Construction News Matters to Business Readers

Ottawa’s construction economy is unusually federal in character. When Public Services and Procurement Canada and other federal departments move on major building and recapitalization programs, they set the pace for a large share of the region’s contractors, engineering firms and trade employers in a way that is less true in Toronto, Calgary or Vancouver.

That has two practical consequences. The first is visibility: federal contracts are publicly disclosed, so the pipeline is easier to read than in purely private markets. The second is concentration risk — a slowdown in federal capital spending is felt faster and harder in the capital region than a comparable slowdown would be elsewhere.

For suppliers and subtrades, months like this one are a scheduling signal as much as a business one. A $768.6-million building program, a major bridge replacement and a multi-site residential proposal competing for the same skilled trades in the same city is a labour availability question, not just a revenue opportunity.

The National Backdrop: Rates, Tariffs and Input Costs

None of these projects sit outside the wider Canadian economy. Financing conditions remain a live variable for private developers weighing whether to push tower proposals into construction, and the Bank of Canada’s decision to hold its policy rate at 2.25% continues to shape the cost of capital behind residential intensification projects like the Baseline Road sites.

Material costs are the other pressure point. Cross-border trade friction has direct implications for construction inputs such as steel, aluminum and finished building products, and Canada’s counter-tariff measures now covering $27.6 billion in U.S. imports are part of the cost environment contractors are pricing into new bids. This paragraph is general market context; no tariff-related cost figure has been attributed to any of the Ottawa projects described above.

Longer-term design assumptions are shifting too. Federal and municipal asset owners are increasingly writing climate resilience requirements into infrastructure specifications, a trend reinforced by findings that Canada’s warming trend is now considered irreversible and that adaptation must be built into new infrastructure rather than retrofitted later.

What Is Still Unconfirmed

Several material facts remain outstanding across the four stories. Construction start dates, completion targets, project locations and contract recipients — other than PCL Construction on the science hub — were not disclosed in the summary reviewed. The Baseline Road proposal’s approval status and unit yield are likewise Not specified.

Readers making commercial decisions on the basis of these figures should confirm scope and timing directly with the awarding federal departments or the City of Ottawa’s planning department before acting. The dollar values reported here are the confirmed elements; the surrounding detail is not yet public.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the largest Ottawa construction contract reported this month?
The $768.6-million federal contract awarded to PCL Construction for a new science hub in Ottawa.

Who received the $78-million Alexandra Bridge replacement contract?
The contract recipient is Not specified in the available material. Only the $78-million value has been reported.

Have the 11 Baseline Road towers been approved?
No. They are described as proposed across two development sites. The planning approval status, heights and unit counts are Not mentioned.

Do these figures represent total Ottawa construction spending for September?
No. The roughly $877-million combined total covers only the three disclosed contract values in this roundup, not all activity in the region.

White stylized lion's head logo on a red background.
Website |  + posts

You may also like